May 23, 2010, or as it will henceforth be known, LOST finale day

Man am I nervous. More nervous than excited. More anxious than thrilled. I have spent the last hour trying to mentally prepare myself for the LOST finale tonight. I know that will sound sadly pathetic to many out there, but the truth is I (as well as most all other LOST-ies) have invested a huge amount of time and thought into this TV series. The scary thing about it is there are so many things left unanswered, and only 2.5 hours (in reality, more like 1.5 hours) left in the shows life.

I’m not saying that I need everything answered in order to feel fulfilled by the show or its finale. On the contrary, that wouldn’t fit. What worries me is the potential letdown factor. Most shows have a finale that is used to tie up a few loose ends, but LOST is different; its like a freight train that has been picking up speed and intensity as it progresses. Logically, one could think that a finale that is anything less than the culmination of all that inertia is a failure. Then again, I’m sure there are many who would prefer a return to simplicity–an ending that weeds out all the mind-bending intricacies of LOSTworld, like numbers and polar bears and time travel, and puts the final focus on the characters and their relationships.

What worries me is that I don’t think it can do both those things, and I don’t even know which I would prefer.

Plus, finales in general are cursed. They are so hyped that they are set up for failure. And while everyone looks forward to the finale, you kind of don’t, really. You kind of despise it–Its the Jack Kavorkian episode, killing off a series so it isn’t doomed to degenerate.

So, my conclusion? I have decided to give the LOST finale the freest reign and the greatest benefit of the doubt I have ever given any artistic medium in my life. I simply will not let the finale ruin what has been 6 years of the most intriguing television I have ever watched, no matter the direction it takes. It is just another episode. If I like it, terrific. If not, oh well. It doesn’t have to make or break the series for me. And the great thing is now that I have assumed that mindset, I can return to being optimistic, and fully expect the finale to blow my mind (and emotions).

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “May 23, 2010, or as it will henceforth be known, LOST finale day

  1. Martha

    Well said, Nate! I think that’s an excellent mindset. I think I’ll adopt the same. I’ve been really anxious, too. But, you’re right, It’s been a fun ride. Why not resolve yourself to enjoy one last spin? I’m with you, Brother!

Leave a comment